Sign in to follow this  
EJHend

Band Practices with football team

I am a volunteer assistant coach at a high school where the marching band is a huge deal and somehow they were able to get a band stand, paid for by their booster club, put on the practice fields. Now we have to rotate using the field. Anybody ever heard of this happening before because I haven't? Head coach is new and pretty inexperienced and won't complain. Any suggestions?

I am 100% in favor of marching bands, they add a lot of schools, and to Friday nights.  But, the principal has to know who's putting more fans into the stands.  Is it the band?  Or is it the football team?  I'd assume the football team is who puts butts in seats.  If that's the case, the admin has to help out the football coach here. 

Yeah, Chris. That's what I think too. We have a couple of practice fields and they practice while we are practicing. It's very disruptive. This is my first year at this particular school, so I have no idea the history or anything but I know it's not something I've ever seen before. 

Being flexible can pay huge dividends for both programs in this situation.  The band most likely practices on the field every day during school and most likely, twice a week after school.  The football team practices every day after school except game day.  The could easily work out a compromise.  Some schools simply don't have the facilities to allow each their own.