Sign in to follow this  
Glenn

Running Clock

As a coach, I hate a running clock. I understand why they went to this. My thought is there should be another way to deal with those coaches who enjoy beating the heck out of other teams because they are on an ego trip. If this happens these coaches should be dealt with on an individual basis. However, if your 4th string team is scoring points then that should be an exception because it is not fair to handicap those 4th string kids. You could also have a running clock if both coaches agree. My problem is that we have 50 players on each team. With a running clock many of our subs never get to play. These kids work just as hard as the 1st team kids (well, most of them anyway) so they deserve a chance to play, plus it gives them game experience. Many of these kids will be starters by the time they are seniors. 

• Like 1

I am againt the running clock.  Not good for the game.  Hurts growth for players due to limiting playing time.  Unfortunately there will be coaches that do not get it and will run it up with the first team in late.

• Thanks 1

The current form of the "running clock" should be shelved. I don't disagree with the premise but the way it is often handled doesn't do the game justice. I would like to see some modifications. Perhaps stop the clock while officials talk, administer penalties, etc. and stop the clock as usual for OB and incomplete passes but restart it once the ball is marked ready for play. That would shorten the blow-out but also allow teams to get valuable snaps for reserves. The current version would allow, In theory, either team to decide that they aren't going to run another play and we could watch the officials chat and walk off yardage while the remainder of time runs off. Just my two cents... 

• Thanks 1

No running clock in college, NFL, nor life. If anything remove all starters after a set score. If the second and third string score so be it.

Mongo Guru